top of page

Our background

Cycling Innovation Accelerator-74.jpg
Ibis-Oso-eMTB-ebike-mtb-test-review-6720.jpg

There are many start-ups and strong ideas, but it takes a lot more to be successful.

There are many paths to success. And it may be different for each start-up. Nevertheless, they all have something in common.

When we founded 41 Publishing in 2011 with just € 6,000 in startup capital from our Grandma Schmitt, we had a clear vision and ambitious goals, but honestly had no idea of how many surprises and challenges were heading our way. Today we are one of the most influential and innovative publishers in the bike sector, with our international magazines ENDURO, GRAN FONDO, DOWNTOWN and E-MOUNTAINBIKE regularly setting trends and providing important impulses in their respective segments. Furthermore, they actively help shape the future of the scene and the industry with their comprehensive comparison tests, real world buyer’s guides and opinion articles.

The same goes for the Oscars of the bike world, the Design & Innovation Award, which we created in 2012 and has since been separating the wheat from the chaff among thousands of submissions to identify and award the most exciting, innovative and outstanding products of the season.

Banner-Brands-41.Publishing.png

Embarking on such an ambitious entrepreneurial journey and creating several brands from the ground up was a daunting task but at the same time a fun, exciting experience. We devoted a lot of thought, heart and passion into achieving our goals, working hard and taking risks, but we were fortunate to have had the support of some great mentors and pioneers to help us along the way. Today, with four internationally established magazines and an industry-leading award under our belts, we are still far from perfect, but we have gathered a huge wealth of experience in risks and opportunities, company development and structure, HR, product testing, sales and marketing. As a central interface of the bike world, we’ve seen countless companies come and go, examined mistakes and success stories and learned from them. Long story short: we really know what matters. And that’s great, but what’s even greater is that we are now passing on our experience and helping others the same way others helped us.
 

It doesn't matter whether Mahatma Gandhi actually said it, but "Be the change you want to see in the world" is a great mantra and we’re always trying to implement it in our work. And that’s exactly where the Cycling Innovation Accelerator enters the picture: we want to invest in ideas and people who develop, improve and do the things we want to see in the (bike) world.

Every great product, success story and business venture starts with a small idea. In the early stages of a new entrepreneurial initiative, very few founders really know what fate has in store for them. And for those who think they know, a brutal reality check often lies in wait just around the corner. However, after the first shaky steps usually comes a boost of confidence and self-assurance. At the heart of every great venture lies a problem we want to solve or, better still, a gap we want to fill. For Ferry Porsche, it was the car of his dreams that didn't exist – so he set about building it himself. For Markus Flossmann, founder of YT Industries, it was a cheap DJ bike that the kids at the local dirt jump spot could actually afford. For pro racer Iago Garay, it was the struggle to find a frame protector with a cool design, so he founded DYEDBro, adding a splash of colour to countless bikes while at the same time reducing wear and increasing their value. For Ruben Torenbeek, bike engineer and founder of RAAW, it was the urge to create his own brand and build a bike that was more robust and durable than many bikes available on the market. For Sven Erger, founder of Rebike Mobility, it was the lack of a platform for used e-bikes. The list of exciting stories is virtually endless and all the people we’ve mentioned have one thing in common: it wasn’t an easy journey but all of them approached it one step at a time and were supported by mentors in the process, sometimes progressing faster, sometimes slower. Some got the wrong support and had to overcome obstacles along the way, others found the right partners straight away.

If you know our magazines, you also know that we don’t like to just publish and repost press releases or YouTube videos. The main objective of our work isn’t just to be there, but to actively shape the scene and industry. Whether it’s through our comparison tests, compelling stories, strong opinion pieces, purchase advice or the Design & Innovation Award, it is our aim to give clear recommendations and feedback, both positive and negative. The leitmotif of 41 Publishing company is "We set trends and shape the cycling world", so the Cycling Innovation Accelerator feels like the next logical step forward.

Design-Innovation-Award-2020-Road-1710.jpg

How can I apply?

Do you run a start-up, a small business or simply have an idea for a product or service with a business plan and are looking for support?

The next application period begins on October 11, 2023!

 

bottom of page

top of page

Unser Background

Cycling Innovation Accelerator-74.jpg
Ibis-Oso-eMTB-ebike-mtb-test-review-6720.jpg

Es gibt viele Start-Ups und starke Ideen, aber für Erfolg braucht es deutlich mehr.

Wege zum Erfolg gibt es viele. Und für jedes Unternehmen mag es ein anderer sein. Dennoch haben sie alle etwas gemeinsam.

Als wir vor über 10 Jahren unseren Verlag 41 Publishing mit 6.000 € Startkapital von unserer Oma Irma gründeten, hatten wir eine klare Vision und ambitionierte Ziele, aber ehrlich gesagt keine Ahnung, was da alles unvorhergesehen auf uns zukommen würde. Heute sind wir einer der einflussreichsten und innovativsten Verlage der Bike-Welt mit internationalen Magazinen wie ENDURO, GRAN FONDO, DOWNTOWN und E-MOUNTAINBIKE, die in ihren Segmenten regelmäßig Trends und wichtige Impulse setzen und mit ihren Vergleichstests, Kaufberatungen und Meinungsartikeln die Szene genauso wie die Hersteller voranbringen.

Das gleiche gilt für den wichtigsten Award der Bike-Branche, den Design & Innovation Award, den wir 2012 ins Leben riefen und seit über 10 Jahren unter Tausenden von Einreichungen die Spreu vom Weizen getrennt haben und jedes Jahr die spannendsten, innovativsten und herausragendsten Produkte auszeichnen.

Banner-Brands-41.Publishing.png

Unser unternehmerischer Werdegang und der Aufbau dieser Marken war hart, aber zugleich immer auch sehr spannend und spaßig. Glücklicherweise haben wir nicht nur viel Hirnschmalz und Herzblut ins Erreichen unserer Ziele gesetzt, viel gearbeitet und Neues ausprobiert, sondern hatten immer wieder tolle Mentoren und Wegbereiter in unserem Netzwerk, die uns auf unserem Weg unterstützt haben. Heute, nach Gründung und Aufbau von 4 Magazinen sowie dem Design & Innovation Award, sind wir noch immer nicht perfekt, haben aber einen riesigen Erfahrungsschatz an Risiken und Chancen, Firmenaufbau, Organisationsstruktur, HR, Transformation, PR sowie Product Testing bis hin zum Vertrieb, und wir wissen worauf es ankommt. Als zentrale Schnittstelle der Bike-Welt haben wir schon zahlreiche Firmen kommen und gehen sehen, Fehler wie Erfolgsgeschichten analysiert und aus ihnen gelernt. Nach 10 Jahren sind wir noch lange nicht satt. Im Gegenteil: Wir haben zahlreiche spannende wie zukunftsträchtige Ideen. Eine davon: unsere Erfahrung weitergeben und anderen helfen, so wie uns geholfen wurde.

 

Es ist ganz egal, ob Mahatma Gandhi das tatsächlich gesagt hat, oder nicht: „Be the change you wish to see in the world“ ist ein tolles Mantra, das wir immer wieder aufs Neue in unserer Arbeit umzusetzen versuchen. Und hier kommt der Cycling Innovation Accelerator ins Spiel: Wir wollen in Ideen und Menschen investieren, die die Dinge tun und entwickeln, die wir in der (Bike)-Welt sehen wollen und diese verbessern.

Jede große Tat, jeder Erfolg und jede Unternehmung hat mit einer kleinen Idee gestartet. Kaum ein Gründer wusste so recht, was da auf sie oder ihn zukommt. Und die, die glaubten, es zu wissen, wurden oftmals schnell von der Realität ein- oder gar überholt. Doch nach den ersten wackeligen Schritten kam immer mehr Zuversicht und Selbstvertrauen. Es gab da letztlich nur ein Problem, das man lösen wollte. Für Ferry Porsche war es das Auto seiner Träume, das nicht existierte – also hat er sich daran gemacht, es selbst zu bauen. Für Markus Flossmann von YT Industries war es ein günstiges Dirtjump-Bike, das die Kids auf den Dirts sich tatsächlich auch leisten konnten. Für Pro-Racer Iago Garay war es der Bedarf an cool designten Rahmenschutzfolien, also gründete er DYEDBro und reduzierte damit die Abnutzung und erhöhte den Werterhalt vieler Bikes. Für Ruben von RAAW war es der Weg als Bike-Ingenieur seine eigene Marke aufzubauen, die langlebiger und robuster als vieles auf dem Markt sein sollte. Für Sven Erger das Fehlen einer Gebrauchtbike-Plattform für E-Bikes. Diese Liste könnten wir endlos so weiterführen, doch was sie alle gemeinsam haben: Keiner dieser Wege war je einfach. Doch jede(r) von ihnen ist den Weg Schritt für Schritt gegangen, hatte Mentoren und ist mal schneller, mal langsamer vorangekommen. Hat Fehltritte und falsche Unterstützung bekommen oder direkt die richtigen Partner gefunden.

Wer unsere Magazine ENDURO, GRAN FONDO, DOWNTOWN und E-MOUNTAINBIKE kennt, der weiß, dass wir uns noch nie damit begnügt haben, Pressemitteilungen oder Youtube-Videos auf unseren Kanälen zu veröffentlichen. Mit unseren Vergleichstests, unseren starken Meinungs-Storys, Kaufberatungen und dem Design & Innovation Award ging es uns schon immer darum, klare Empfehlungen – positiv wie negativ – zu geben. Unser Anspruch an unsere Arbeit ist nicht nur dabei zu sein, sondern aktiv die Szene und Branche zu gestalten. Der Leitsatz unseres Verlags 41 Publishing lautet „We set trends and shape the world of cycling“. Deshalb ist der Cycling Innovation Accelerator fast schon eine logische Konsequenz.

Design-Innovation-Award-2020-Road-1710.jpg

Wie kann ich mich bewerben?

Du hast ein Start-Up, Kleinunternehmen oder eine Idee für ein Produkt oder Service inklusive Businessplan und suchst Unterstützung? Dann bist du bei uns richtig! 

 

Du kannst dich bis zum 30.12.2023 für den Cycling Innovation Accelerator bewerben (Bewerbung auf Englisch).

bottom of page